More frustrating than Danmaku!?

by

Yes. Recently, I’ve played a game that made me wanna rip out hair from my scalp. No, wait. Scratch that. Not that frustrating. But frustrating enough for me to start being pissed at a game.

And the only game that would make that happen, would be Danmaku-filled games.

But this game ain’t filled with Danmaku. It doesn’t even have a bit of Danmaku in it.

It’s a game called Demon’s Soul for the PS3.

About a week ago, I was walking with a friend of mine, and he told me about how insanely hard it was. So hard, he was stuck at level 1, stage 2. When I had first heard of it, I didn’t believe it for a moment. Him? Stuck at such an early level?

A few days ago, he invited me over to play that ‘insane-game’. “Couldn’t be too hard now, could it?” I thought.

I was horrendously wrong.

At the start of the game, you had to chose a name, gender, and class of your character. There are 10 different classes in there, all with their own pros and cons. I went along with a thief.

So after an hour of battling, here’s a summary of why it’s hard.

This game teaches you the lesson of encountering a game over. Once you die in this game, you enter a ‘soul form’, with your maximum Health halved. To return back to your body, you’re forced to slay a demon. However, here’s the problem. Nearly every enemy in this game can, and will, make you see that ‘You are Dead’ or ‘Game Over’ screen. Even a simple 2-on-1 fight with regular guards could exhaust all of your healing items. The worst thing, however, is when you DO die.

You lose all of your souls you’ve collected(they’re used as money in this game.), you restart at the beginning of the entire chapter, whatever equipments you’ve used counts (e.g: bombs/arrows). And the worst thing? All the enemies respawn.

Yup.

But overall, it’s a pretty fun and awesome game. Sure, the death system will make you flip once in awhile, but the battles and evasion events are pretty exhilarating.

At least I don’t die every few seconds, like in I Wanna Be The Guy. Now, THAT game was a real killer.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “More frustrating than Danmaku!?”

  1. meatpupp3t Says:

    After him I played. I got fed up then we started playing RE5, ending with Wesker’s demise. ( Wesker’s definately not dead trust me on that.)

Leave a Reply

